Quorn Veggie Burgers and Home-Made Buns

I’ve been experimenting to produce the ultimate home-made veggie burger. If you haven’t got an instant burger mix – I prefer the Granose Meat-free Burger mix, then there are millions of ideas out there to make your own using lentils, kidney beans (in fact almost any kind of bean), chick peas, vegetables and so on. However, they often fall apart while cooking, and most disappointingly in my view, have a soft texture with no “bite”  that is probably what I yearn for most without actually eating a meat burger.  Quorn products can provide a healthy alternative to meat and as I can get  Quorn mince , I set to work to create my perfect veggie-burger.

This recipe is infinitely variable and still somewhat experimental but I’ve had some great results so far.  It makes approximately 8 burgers.

Ingredients:

1 onion, finely chopped
½ red pepper, finely chopped
100g Quorn mince, unfrozen
1 tspn tomato purée
1 Weetabix biscuit, scrunched into crumbs (or use a quantity of bread crumbs)
1 egg, beaten
salt & pepper
½ tspn chilli powder, or to taste
½ tablespoon Tahini paste
Vegetable oil

In a frying pan, heat a small amount of vegetable oil and cook the onions and red pepper until they’re soft. Add the Quorn mix and stir for 30 seconds or so to combine. Remove the pan from the heat and transfer the onion and Quorn mixture into a large bowl. Add the seasoning, Tahini, tomato purée, egg and Weetabix crumbs.
The chilli gives the burgers a bit of a taste kick and I’ve found they need a bit more than I would normally use to actually create a good flavour but it’s optional if you don’t like it. You could try harissa instead of tomato purée, soya sauce or Worcestershire sauce to get some flavour into the burgers.
Normal burger recipes use breadcrumbs but I’ve used Weetabix as it has the same binding effect and is readily available in my store cupboard. Using your hand or a wooden spoon, thoroughly mix all the ingredients together so that if you press it, it stays together.

Quorn burger
Use a pastry cutter or mould to shape the burgers. I have to say that the onion was not cut finely enough in these first burgers.

Lay out a sheet of cling and use a burger mould or an upside-down pastry cutter to shape your burgers. It is best not to cook them straight away but either chill them in the fridge for a couple of hours or if you are short of time, pop them in the freezer until they’re firm. The uncooked burgers freeze well (do not thaw and re-freeze frozen Quorn) and they can be cooked straight from the freezer. They’ll need about 5 minutes each side to heat through and turn a golden brown colour. I usually top them with a slice of burger cheese, place them under the grill for a couple of minutes to melt the cheese then serve in home-made burger buns (see below) with salad, pickles and tomato sauce.
My absolute favourite bun recipe came to me from the Inquiring Chef, an American expat living in Bangkok. She in turn got it from the New York Times and now I’m passing her recipe on to you.

Brioche bun dough
Kneading the brioche bun dough – you’ll need a dough cutter.

I can honestly say that once tasted, you’ll always be disappointed by every other home-made bun, they are that good. These Light Brioche Buns are quite a challenge the first time you make them as the dough is incredibly sticky but you mustn’t add flour – persevere and reap the rewards. Slice almost through the bun so they are ready to use and store in the freezer until you need them, they don’t take long to thaw or you can defrost them in the microwave in seconds.

Light Brioche Buns
These Light Brioche Buns are perfect for burgers.
Author: Julia Moss

Hi, Thanks for looking at my profile. For work I manage our own websites about ski and mountains and tourism in France. For pleasure, I cook and like eating out, I enjoy gardening and growing my own veg and I sing in a choir. Restoring our French farmhouse is an ongoing labour of love.

13 thoughts on “Quorn Veggie Burgers and Home-Made Buns”

  1. I forgot to put my frozen Quorn burgers in my freezer, is it safe to use the unfrozen ones, and if so ,How long should I cook them for? They are not out of date. Alan

Leave a Reply

